Web Toolbar by Wibiya Bears and Bullets: 2012-06-10

Friday, June 15, 2012

Stream Smoke DZA's Rugby Thompson

Smoke DZA's Rugby Thompson LP won't be out until next Tuesday, June 19, but you can stream the album in its entirety via SPIN. The album features help from Curren$y, ScHoolboy Q, and others, with production from Harry Fraud.

New Actress mix

This new mixtape, presented by Dazed & Confused Digital over at Mixcloud, comes from London producer Actress (Darren Cunningham), following his R.I.P. release earlier this year. Check out the half-hour collection below.

New XV and ScHoolboy Q - AaaHH Real Monsters

From his forthcoming Popular Culture mixtape, XV enlisted the help of emerging rapper ScHoolboy Q for "AaaHH! Real Monsters." The old Nickelodeon cartoon reference is addressed in the awesome mixtape cover above, with samples of Little Dragon's "Forever" used for the beat. Check it out below.

New Dirty Projectors - Dance For You

Late last night, another new cut from Dirty Projectors' upcoming release Swing Lo Magellan, "Dance For You" spread around. It's the first new track we've heard since "Gun Has No Trigger," which has been on steady repeat for some time now.

Check out "Dance For You" below and grab the new album July 10, via Domino Records.

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Stream Jeff The Brotherhood's Hypnotic Knights EP

A few weeks back we heard the lead track from Jeff The Brotherhood's forthcoming Hypnotic Knights EP, "Sixpack." Now the EP won't be fully available until July 17, but you can stream the whole thing below until then, or preorder it over at iTunes. Check it out below.

New Best Coast video - The Only Place

Best Coast's ode to their California upbringing, "The Only Place," was given its video debut from director Ace Norton, showcasing Bethany Cosentino and Bob Bruno doing normal things that happen to be in California. Check it out below.

New David Byrne and St. Vincent - Who

Word of a collaborative album between David Bryne and St. Vincent was released a few weeks back, with a supporting tour along the way. Today, we hear the first cut from their upcoming Love This Giant, which is expected for release at the end of the summer.

Listen to "Who" below, and check out the album details over at Stereogum.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

New Mission of Burma - Second Television

Does it really surprise anyone when post-punk legends Mission of Burma continue to release stellar material, even with 30-plus years behind them? The newest from the band, "Second Television," is the second single we've heard from July's upcoming album Unsound. Check out the new track below, and grab the album July 9 via Fire Records.

New Nguzunguzu - Delirium

The first single from Nguzunguzu's upcoming Warm Pulse LP, "Delirium," is a wonderfully glossy trip reminiscent of last year's Rustie album Glass Swords. Check the track out below.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

New J. Dilla - Detroit Game (ft. Boldy James and Chuck Inglish)

Even after death, guys like J. Dilla have so much unreleased material that it seems like they never really left. The newest cut, coming from the posthumous producer's upcoming Rebirth of Detroit release, features fellow Detroit alums Chuck Inglish and Boldy James on the aptly titled "Detroit Game." Check it out below.

New Frank Ocean - Pyramids

Rumors have been swirling that Frank Ocean's next LP, which as of yet doesn't have a confirmed title, will be released next month. "Pyramids," the newest track from Ocean, is expected with the July LP, tracks at nearly 10 minutes, surprisingly. Check out the monster single below.

The Alchemist - Flight Confirmation (with Danny Brown and Schoolboy Q)

Extraordinary producer The Alchemist has just released this first cut from next month's Russian Roulette, featuring Danny Brown and Schoolboy Q. The two-minute split rap smashes the two rappers alongside Alchemist's off-beat psychedelic samples. Check it out below.

Lollapalooza schedule, aftershow lineup released

With less than two months before Lollapalooza, the last stretch of the preliminary events has finally passed. Earlier today, the festival released their official three-day schedule, and their lineup of pre-Lolla and post-Lolla after shows. You can check out the listed shows here; FIDLAR & Delta Spirit is one I'm particularly excited for.

As for the schedule, we already knew which artists were playing on which days, but not at which particular times, so this is simply a clarification. As it is, the biggest obvious dilemma is Justice and Jack White closing Sunday night on opposite sides of Grant Park, which is a fairly big decision for a lot of us. However, because of the relative openness of the Sunday schedule, you have the opportunity to see either At The Drive-In and Florence+The Machine prior to the aforementioned acts with relative ease.

Outside of that, there have been more divisive schedules, but there are a few big decisions that will have to be made. Check out the schedule for yourself, here.

Monday, June 11, 2012

New Fiona Apple video - Every Single Night

Fiona Apple's upcoming super-hyped album The Idler Wheel ... is finally set for release June 19th, but you can get a first listen to the album, courtesy of NPR. As well, Apple has premiered the first video for the album, of the lead-single "Every Single Night." The Joseph Cahill-directed video features her in slimy animal paradise. Check it out below.

Radiohead premiere new track - Full Stop

In Radiohead's string of live performances during their The King of Limbs tour, the band has premiered a small handful of new material off and on. Add "Full Stop," which debuted last night during the band's Chicago set at Tinley Park. Watch the live cut below.

Justice - New Lands (A-Trak Remix)

With the long, fantastic weekend behind me, it's time to get back to work.

A new A-Trak remix of Justice's AC/DC-inspired "New Lands," from last year's "Audio, Video, Disco" has surfaced. The new take pushes to nearly seven minutes, with plenty of banger buildup. Check it out below.