Web Toolbar by Wibiya Bears and Bullets: 2011-04-17

Friday, April 22, 2011

Lollapalooza rumors update

The official Lollapalooza lineup release is a mere four days away, so before Tuesday comes around, I'll give the lineup wrap up of what we already know.

Now, if you've been following my Twitter, you'd see that the folks at the official Lollapalooza Facebook page have been running a daily game. Participants are quizzed on 10 random Lolla history questions per day, receiving three clues (max) about the 2011 lineup, depending on how many questions are answered correctly.

The game has been running every day since Monday, so here are the first batch of artists that we can base the clues off:

*There's a third clue from earlier today that asks, "This bluesy, rootsy beauty might just be James Brown reincarnated." The probable answers are either Janelle Monae, Adele, or Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Still unsure.

As for the adds, if those are indeed the correct answers, which the consensus seems to be, there are only a few surprises. Muse, Lykke Li, and Tennis have all been confirmed for some time, and many of the other artists were reasonable to assume that they'd appear. Ween, however, came almost out of left-field and should be a pleasant surprise for many attendees.

The game, as I said, will continue until Tuesday when the official lineup is finally released. Until then, there will be nine more clues released.

Stay tuned here for full Lollapalooza updates ...

Friday Bears: More New Beastie Boys - Say It

There's no video release for "Say It" (yet), but the newest Beastie Boys leak from Hot Sauce Committee Part Two is a nice change of pace from "Make Some Noise" and "Tadlock Glasses."

"Say It," is covered from beginning to end with full, fuzzy reverb, making the shocking revelation that the Brooklyn trio are still as relevant as ever. Listen to the stream below, via Pretty Much Amazing.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Isaac Brock premieres new song for Don't Move Here

Isaac Brock was the subject of WKE's newest episode of "Don't Move Here," a show focusing on Portland's music scene. The show is mainly about Brock's cool and fittingly weird home "Glacial Pace," which also houses the band's recording studio.

At the end of the short episode, around the 7:56 mark, Brock and the rest of Modest Mouse perform a new song, still untitled as of yet. It's the group's first new material since 2009's No One's First Your Next EP.

New Yeasayer - Swallowing the Decibels

Yeasayer, still reeling off the release of last year's Odd Blood, released an exclusive 7" on Record Store Day fittingly titled End Blood.

End Blood's A-Side, "Swallowing the Decibels," features variations Odd Blood fans will surely recognize, as the Brooklyn group continues to evolve their suddenly synonymous sounds. Listen to it below, courtesy of Pretty Much Amazing.

Thursday Bears: New Beastie Boys video - Make Some Noise

A couple weeks ago, the Beastie Boys premiered the trailer for the Brooklyn trio's upcoming 30 minute short film, featuring an insane vanguard of legitimate cameos, up to which included Will Ferrell, Jack Black, John C. Reilly, Seth Rogen, Elijah Wood, and Danny McBride all playing different versions of Mike D, Ad Rock, and MCA.

Late last night, the actual video for "Make Some Noise," the first single from the group's upcoming album Hot Sauce Committee Part Two, premiered, featuring even more damn cameos from the likes of Steve Buscemi, Kirsten Dunst, Amy Poehler, and still more.

Beastie Boys - Make Some Noise

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Tuesday Bears: New music from The National - Exile Vilify

One year after the release of High Violet, The National still seem to be churning out new singles every month or so.

Today, the group released the single "Exile Vilify" from, where else, the soundtrack to Portal 2, which was released earlier today. The band actually had prior interest to being part of the production soundtrack, which is the first time I think I've heard music of this quality on a video game from a complete outside source.

Song found via We All Want Someone to Shout For.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Monday Bears: Free New Radiohead!

I guess the headline should read "Free New Radiohead for some!"

Fans that downloaded Radiohead's The Kings of Limbs prior to today can head over to the band's website to get a free download of the group's record store day release "Supercollider/The Butcher."

Don't question it, just go to Radiohead.com and go through The King of Limbs store for those that apply.