Web Toolbar by Wibiya Bears and Bullets: 2010-02-21

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Friday Bears: The Thermals Winter Olympics Theme

I'd be lying to you if I told you I found any new music today more compelling than The Thermals song "Canada," just in time for the end of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics. It's endearingly simple, humorous and more fun than anything else you'll hear this week.

The Thermals - Canada (stream)

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Tuesday Bears: Hold Steady Announce New Album

The Hold Steady announced earlier today the release date and tracklist for the Brooklyn, via Minnesota band's upcoming album album Heaven is Whenever. In the band's first studio album since long-time keyboardist Franz Nicolay parted ways, the sounds are more guitar-driven, with "changes to the songwriting process," as guitarist Tad Kubler put it.

Heaven is Whenever is scheduled for release May 4 via Vagrant Records, with the band heading out on tour in early April (tour dates here).

Full Tracklist:

1. The Sweet Part of the City
2. Soft in the Center
3. The Weekenders
4. The Smidge
5. Rock Problems
6. We Can Get Together
7. Hurricane J
8. Barely Breathing
9. Our Whole Lives
10. A Slight Discomfort

Monday, February 22, 2010

Monday Bears: New Frightened Rabbit Video - "Nothing Like You"

Scottish five-piece Frightened Rabbit debuted their second video for "Nothing Like You" from the band's upcoming album The Winter of Mixed Drinks earlier today. Version two is decisively more low-budget and Home Movies-esque, ending with a white t-shirt tumor party in their (likely basement).

The Winter of Mixed Drinks is set for release next Tuesday, March 1, via Fat Cat Records.

Frightened Rabbit - Nothing Like You (second version)